New Jersey residents who file for divorce may be interested in a speedy resolution to the matter so that they can move on with their lives. Several factors may affect the timing as a case is scheduled for court activity. If it is uncontested, the case could be heard as soon as three months from the filing date. However, delays may be expected if the court is extremely busy. As a date is selected for the hearing, the parties will be notified to appear.
New Jersey parents who were never married as well as those who have gotten divorced may sometimes find themselves in situations in which one parent is either failing to pay court-ordered child support or needs help in obtaining an initial child support order. A parent who has custody of a child may benefit by seeking help through the local child support office.
In New Jersey, there are four roles that separated or divorcing parents may assume when the matter of child custody is determined. These are the custodial parent, the noncustodial parent, the parent of primary residence and the parent of alternate residence. Each of these roles affects whether or not a parent is obligated to pay child support to the other parent.
A New Jersey man was taken into custody after authorities discovered that he had four warrants out for his arrest after he allegedly failed to pay his child support. According to the report, he allegedly owed more than $22,000 in child support when he was taken into custody on July 2.
Some fathers are taking their obligation as a divorce parent to a whole new level and battling to not only have equal child custody, but primary custody of their children.
More than 400,000 children in New Jersey depend on child support from noncustodial parents. However, the number of parents who routinely fall behind in their child support payments is staggering. Over the past several years a relatively steady rate of about 58 percent of noncustodial parents are not meeting their child support obligations. When subject to a child support order, failure to pay is a very big deal.
The New Jersey Senate Judiciary Committee recently approved legislation that would allow parties involved in a divorce to seek an alternative to a court battle to resolve the conflict that naturally comes with the complicated and emotional process.
In what would seem to be two sides of the same coin, two New Jersey courts have recently taken different stances on a parent’s obligation to pay for a child’s tuition. A Morris County superior court ruled that a couple did not have to pay for their daughter’s tuition for private high school and college. But in the same week, in another child support case, a New Jersey appellate panel ordered a child’s father to pay his share of expenses for his daughter to attend law school.
A personal trainer recently entered a guilty plea for his role in using intimidation to coerce Orthodox Jewish men in New Jersey to agree to religious divorces from their wives. Though irreconcilable differences are the only requirement for civil divorce, religious divorces under Jewish law require the husbands to sign a paper called a get.
A Morristown, New Jersey judge has declined to rule that parents must pay over $600 per month in child support, including private high school tuition, to their daughter who has sued them. The teenager claims that her parents threw her out of the house, were verbally abusive, and maintained unreasonable rules. The parents claim that their daughter, now 18, voluntarily moved out of the house because she was unwilling to comply with reasonable household expectations.